Where is Saint Lucia Located?

Saint Lucia in the Caribbean

St Lucia map 2

Saint Lucia Listeni/seɪnt ˈluːʃə/ (French: Sainte-Lucie) is a sovereign island country in the eastern Caribbean Sea on the boundary with the Atlantic Ocean.[4] Part of the Lesser Antilles, it is located north/northeast of the island of Saint Vincent, northwest of Barbados and south of Martinique. It covers a land area of 617 km2 (238.23 sq mi) and has a population of 176,000 (2011 – World Bank). The capital and largest city of St. Lucia is Castries located on the islands northwestern coast with a population of about 60,000 inhabitants.

Tourism is vital to Saint Lucia's economy. Its economic importance is expected to continue to increase as the market for bananas becomes more competitive. Tourism tends to be more substantial during the dry season (January to April). Saint Lucia tends to be popular due to its tropical weather and scenery and its numerous beaches and resorts. The months from May to August are considered rainy season.

The official language is English however St. Lucian residents may also speak French patois



Related Articles

St Lucian Flag – Features and Concepts

Saint Lucia's Carnival and Steel Pan 

Saint Lucian Coat of Arms

Saint Lucia's National Bird – Amazona 

Saint Lucia's History and Culture

Kenny Anthony, PM of Saint Lucia

Origins of Saint Lucian Foods

Green Fig and Saltfish – Saint Lucia's National Dish

Diamond Waterfalls- Soufriere Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia Jazz Festival 2013

Saint Lucia Jazz Festival Past and Future

Music of Saint Lucia

Claudia Edward, Saint Lucia's Rising Star



scroll to top