Ontario Black History Society Kick Off Brunch

Ontario Black History Society Kick Off Brunch Celebrates Past and Present Contributions to African-Canadian Culture

The OBHS welcomes keynote speaker Senator Don Meredith and returning CBC hosts Dwight Drummond and Anne-Marie Mediwake.

obhsTORONTO, ON – January 24, 2013 – Tickets are still available for the Ontario Black History Society’s (OBHS) annual Kick Off Brunch at the Liberty Grand Entertainment Complex in Toronto. The event marks both the start of Black History Month as well as the 35th anniversary of the OBHS. The theme of the 2013 brunch, “Reflections”, will be addressed by honouring those whose past contributions helped shape the future, and also those who are making a difference today.

This year’s event is made possible by TD Bank (Diamond sponsor), the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (Platinum sponsor) and RBC (Bronze sponsor).

The event will be held on Sunday, January 27, 2013 from 12:00 pm to 4:00 pm at the Liberty Grand Entertainment Complex (The Governor’s Room), 25 British Columbia Road, Exhibition Place Toronto, ON M6K 3C3. Ticket information available at 416-867-9420 or admin@blackhistorysociety.ca

A highlight of this year’s brunch is the unveiling of the 2013 OBHS Black History Month Poster that pays homage to Harriet Tubman, the African-American abolitionist who led over 300 slaves to freedom via the Underground Railroad. This year marks the 100th anniversary of her passing, and her invaluable contributions will be honoured with a special presentation celebrating both the poster, the inspirational story behind its creation and a further cultural initiative that is part of this poster.

A high quality of artistry will be provided by Archie Alleyne and the Evolution of Jazz, Dominique Grant (rising star), Dance Immersion and spoken word artist Anne-Marie Woods.

As always, the OBHS will award a number of individuals for their local and nationwide achievements. Past awardees have included Lincoln Alexander and Herb Carnegie. This year, they are:

o Dr. Anderson Abbott Award – Denham Jolly
o Rev. Addie Aylestock Award – Senator Don Meredith
o Leonard Braithewaite Award – Margarett Best, MPP
o Mathieu Da Costa Award – Howard McCurdy
o Rose Fortune Award – Kameel Azan
o Dr. Daniel G. Hill Award – Thando Hyman-Aman
o Olivier le Jeune Award – Archie Alleyne
o Mary Ann Shadd Award – Eddie Grant
o Harriet Tubman Award -Delores Lawrence
o Charles Roach Award – Chuck Ealey
o Mary Matilda Winslow Award – Stanley G. Grizzle

The Hon. Jason Kenney, PC, MP will also present two Diamond Jubilee Awards to Inspector Keith Merith and Rahel Appiagyei.

A new award, the Barack Obama Influencer Award from the Diamond Awards will be presented to James Valitchka.

About the Ontario Black History Society

Founded in 1978, the Ontario Black History Society (OBHS) is the organization in Canada that is at the forefront in the celebration of Black history and heritage with a demonstrated record in the study, preservation and promotion of Black history in Ontario. The OBHS is also the only Ontario Provincial Heritage Organization of the Ministry of Culture devoted to Black history and heritage.  For more information about the OBHS please visit: www.blackhistorysociety.ca



scroll to top