OECS and CDB continue Country Poverty Assessment training

OECS and CDB continue Country Poverty Assessment training

Workshop in progress

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 — The OECS Commission and the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) continue training of Country Poverty Assessment (CPA) stakeholders as the region works towards improved methods of indicating and measuring poverty.

The Cabinet-appointed National Assessment Teams (NAT) in St. Kitts and in Nevis each participated in a sensitisation workshop for the CDB’s Enhanced model for the Country Poverty Assessment (CPA) on January 23-24, 2018.

A two-person delegation from the Statistical Services Unit of the OECS Commission facilitated the workshop which provided information on the role and responsibility of the NAT, the elements of the Enhanced CPA, and the tools and resources available for implementing the Enhanced CPA and gender sensitization.

Ms. Beverly Harris, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sustainable Development said the sensitization workshop was an important step towards the end goal of poverty alleviation.

“The Enhanced CPA is critical for measuring poverty levels in the Federation and for ensuring that appropriate policies are put in place to alleviate poverty.”

In April 2017, the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis formally constituted its NAT, which is the team with overall responsibility to coordinate the implementation of the Enhanced CPA.  On 30 November 2017, the Government of the Federation observed the official start of the implementation of the CPA at two ceremonies – one in St. Kitts and the other in Nevis.

OECS and CDB continue Country Poverty Assessment training

Mrs. Amonia Paul-Rolle, Social and Gender Analyst at the OECS Commission, delivers a lecture.

The workshop was organised by Mr. Carlton Phipps, Director (Ag.), Department of Statistics, Ministry of Sustainable Development, St. Kitts and Nevis; and Ms. Osslyn Ward, Social Research Officer, and CPA Focal Point, Ministry of Sustainable Development. The delegation from the OECS Commission included Ms. Sinovia Moonie, Research and Survey Statistician, and Mrs. Amonia Paul Rolle, Social and Gender Analyst.

The workshop was funded by the CDB and is part of the ongoing support being provided to the OECS Member States to build national capacity for implementation of the Enhanced CPA.

Source: pressroom.oecs.org

About OECS
The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) is an International Organisation dedicated to economic harmonisation and integration, protection of human and legal rights, and the encouragement of good governance among independent and non-independent countries in the Eastern Caribbean. The OECS came into being on June 18th, 1981, when seven Eastern Caribbean countries signed a treaty agreeing to cooperate with each other while promoting unity and solidarity among its Members. The Treaty became known as the Treaty of Basseterre, so named in honour of the capital city of St. Kitts and Nevis where it was signed. The OECS today, currently has ten members, spread across the Eastern Caribbean comprising Antigua and Barbuda, Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, and Martinique.



scroll to top