Nineteen Jamaican and Caribbean Villages to be declared as IIPT/Skal Peace Villages

IIPT and Skal International are proud to announce that nineteen villages of Jamaica and the Caribbean will be declaring themselves as IIPT/ Skal Peace Villages on 24 August – Opening Day of the UNWTO General Assembly as Secretary General Dr. Taleb Rifai, co-hosting Ministers, Hon. Sylvia Masebo, Zambia, Hon. Walter Mzembi, Zimbabwe and other dignitaries come together to re-dedicate the IIPT International  Peace Park at Victoria Falls.

Victoria fallsBy declaring themselves as IIPT/Skal Peace Villages each village agrees that they will be actively committed to promoting values of tolerance, non-violence, gender equality, human rights, youth empowerment, environmental awareness, and sustainable social and economic development.

In making the announcement IIPT Founder and President, Louis D’Amore praised  IIPT Caribbean President Diana McIntyre-Pike for her leadership in promoting the peace village concept among Jamaican and Caribbean communities: “It was Diana’s passion and dedication to both community tourism and ‘peace through tourism’ that inspired these communities to become IIPT/Skal Villages of Peace.”

Diana McyntireDiana is a pioneer and internationally acclaimed expert in community tourism who actively promotes community tourism through her Countrystyle Community Tourism Network. She believes that tourists seeking authentic community tourism will be more interested in experiencing communities that have committed themselves to “peace, harmony, love and unity for all citizens.”

“Let's do it in the Caribbean,” the marketing and PR partner/Representative for the Caribbean Community Tourism family and all IIPT/SKAL Villages will be included in the overall marketing program for the 'Caribbean Community Experience'.  All villages are members of the Countrystyle Community Tourism Network/Villages as Businesses program.

The following villages will be declaring themselves as IIPT/Skal Villages of Peace while dedicating a Peace Park on 24 August, 2013, Opening Day of the UNWTO General Assembly:

Jamaica: Treasure Beach Village –St. Elizabeth; Accompong Maroon Village – St. Elizabeth; Resource Village – Manchester; Albert Town – Trelawny; Axe-n-Adze/Mt.Petro – Hanover; Rastafarian Indigenous Village –St. James; Camrose Village – St. James; Charles Town Maroon Village – Portland; Beeston Spring Village – Westmoreland; Kitson Town Village – St. Catherine; Mandeville TTown /Brooks Park– Manchester.

Dominica: Marigot Village; Heart of Dominica Village; Grand Bay Village/Geneva Heritage Park; Newtown/Charlotteville/Castle Comfort.

Tortola: Carrot Bay Village.

British Virgin Islands: Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda

St. Vincent: Greiggs Village.

Towns and Villages anywhere in the world are invited to become an IIPT/Skal Peace Town or Village. Please email: to express your interest.

The Peace Towns/Villages project is a legacy project commemorating IIPT’s 25th anniversary year since its First Global Conference: Tourism – A Vital Force for Peace held in Vancouver, Canada 1988.




scroll to top